Day 56 of 100 Poems/100 Days

The Ghost Trees

I get into the stranger’s car,
67′ blue Cadillac,
I think to myself,
if mama knew,
mama’d be upset.

But I don’t mind,
because the stranger reminds me
of a man I may have lost,
a grandfather gone,
all smiles and full of stories.

He turns the radio up,
preacher praising Jesus,
and I start praising along,
humming for his return.

I look out the windows fogging up,
seeing we’ve past the city limits,
the thin woods up ahead,
the stuff of instruments.

I look up,
spotting the sun through the branches,
I turn the radio down,
the preacher now silent,
as if listening in,
as we drive deeper into the dark.

3 thoughts on “Day 56 of 100 Poems/100 Days

  1. Pingback: What 100 Poems Taught Me | words vs. pictures

  2. Pingback: My Favorites | words vs. pictures

Leave a Reply

