’12 Monkeys’ – needs a 2nd viewing

I was going through my DVD collection to find films that might be of use to me in my Independent Study and I stumbled upon a favorite ’12 Monkeys’.

The main character played by Bruce Willis, is driven by a childhood memory that haunts him and that changes everytime he relives it in his dreams. He is also a time-traveler, a character that has an oppurtunity to ‘relive’ his memories of the past and it’s culture (e.g. Louis Armstrong) but is still moving forward to his fated death.

The subjectivity of memory and how it seems to be a driving force into the future, predetermining our actions, could be an interesting section of my paper.

Leave a Reply

