Re-reading Stephen King’s ‘On Writing’ –

I first read ‘On Writing’ by Stephen King when it first came out about 10 years ago. I was 22 at the time and felt afterwards that I had wasted my money.

I’m rereading it now, a little wiser, and find that I’m able to soak up a lot more of what Mr. King was trying to say.

Its relation to my study in memory was confirmed in one of the first paragraphs in describing his biography and memories as a writer:

‘There are no lines – only snapshots, most out of focus’

He goes on to write out those ‘snapshots’, even pointing out the missing details in his memories, in order to explain how he became the writer he is.

It’s as much for our benefit as fans of his work as it is for him – a practitioner who doesn’t quite know how he’s able to do what he does.

I’ve just started – if I find anymore memory or writing tidbits that might interest you I’ll post them up –

Leave a Reply

