Day 9 of 30 Poems/30 Days

‘Mama’
A thousand pounds of gravity,
a thousand ways to die.

Again,
I descend,
my parachute failing me,
my life disappearing.

I fall into Mama’s embrace –
and her lips find my wounds.
As I shrink from man to boy in her arms,
she leans in and whispers:
‘take flight again my son’.

She throws me up back in the air,
past a thousand clouds,
my eyes closed in fear,
away from her voice,
her embrace,
this earth,
this fading place.

One thought on “Day 9 of 30 Poems/30 Days

Leave a Reply

