Day 42 of 50 Poems/50 Days

Alexandria

In the past,
the scent of the streets
would change during the day,
vendors shouting for attention,
and the sound of a distant tram.

From this distance
one could sense the ocean,
beating, like God’s heartbeat,
as if this city was His home.

I think even my dreams were different then;
dark and deep,
something shared,
like the ones I had in the womb.

But now, the city is changed, lost –

I made my memories,
and now I must keep them close,
something private and gone,
something like ghosts to keep me company.

As I walk down these same streets as a man,
the ghosts chase after me, playing tag,
I smile and giggle,
because now it is my turn to chase after them.

Leave a Reply

