Day 71 of 100 Poems/100 Days

Cairo Zoo

The children split in half
around a woman and her son.

And I could hear the fruit sellers,
screaming, as if they each were on fire.

The naked boy,
stuck in their center.

And the little girls,
in their little dresses,
avoiding him, eyes riding higher.

His mother, cross-legged,
covered in black,
palms up and out,

Work hands – I thought to myself,
made for steering ships
and pulling things.

As I came closer,
to peek under her cover,
I saw her eyes –
brown and drowned.

She snatches me forward,
lips split open,
smiling salt and air.

The children split in half
around a woman and her sons.

And I could hear the fruit sellers,
screaming, as if they each were on fire.

Leave a Reply

