Day 75 of 100 Poems/100 Days

Moustopha Kamal

From this height,
I could see all of Alexander’s city,
and the sea he left for me.

We ate aswan watermelons
on the floor of my father’s balcony,
spitting the seeds over the side,
and occasionally, I would look over,
nine floors down!
and, for a moment,
think about jumping.

Would the lightness
under my ribs be enough to carry?
Or would I crash? –
Falling, peeking into each floor,
waving hello and goodbye to strangers at a time,
landing on the tram, of its second car,
saying hello and goodbye to passengers with a rhyme.

Leave a Reply

