Day 86 of 100 Poems/100 Days

Compass

If you dust the car for prints,
you’ll find mine,
you’ll see it was me,
who drove the car into the ravine,
and set it on fire.

That I raped myself in the backseat,
to make sure I was still there,
that I spoke to myself in the frontseat,
to make sure I could still hear.

Even though my ribs still moved,
I needed proof of life,
and you are that reassurance.

The body you found tonight
was nothing but a corpse; a ship,
and its captain had already set sail without it,
as a boy, hopping from one vessel to the next,
abandoning a lake for the ocean.

2 thoughts on “Day 86 of 100 Poems/100 Days

  1. Pingback: What 100 Poems Taught Me | words vs. pictures

  2. Pingback: My Favorites | words vs. pictures

Leave a Reply

