Day 91 of 100 Poems/100 Days

The Glass Box

Next act: she throws herself
into a box of water,
in a straightjacket.
I padlock her in,
over and over,
and we watch,
as she tries to escape.

But her bubbles slow to a stop,
I turn off stage,
and scream for the ax,
the stagehands silent,
I shout for help,
the audience in a panic.

I break the glass,
over and over,
but it only splinters,
her body starts to float,
her eyes half-closed.

But she can still see me,
so she smiles to me,
and mouths something,
I think the words, ‘I am finally lost’.

2 thoughts on “Day 91 of 100 Poems/100 Days

  1. Pingback: What 100 Poems Taught Me | words vs. pictures

  2. Pingback: My Favorites | words vs. pictures

Leave a Reply

