Close by

She causes a ruckus,
stirring the loose parts awake.
I thought we were playing touch,
when in fact we were playing tackle.
Rolling down the ruined hill,
past a tree once the color of God,
she stops and pulls me upright,
close by,
only to break my collar.
She makes a sound on my wrists like this:
‘thack, thack, thack’,
and mends me back together.
As a man, the loose parts fall sometimes,
bones out of their sockets,
then I remember:
she pulled me upright, close by,
only to break my collar.

Leave a Reply

